The next pre-season meeting of the Athletic Officials Association basketball division will be held on Zoom on Thursday, October 8.  Check-in runs from 6:35 to 6:55 p.m. and the presentations start promptly at 7:00 p.m.  

You can join this week’s meeting by using this link:

In the event you have to enter the meeting ID:
Meeting ID for this week is:  830 3244 4542. 
If you are joining only by audio, the dial-in number is:  312 626 6799.

If you have not completed your registration for membership, you can do so at:

To participate in the Zoom meetings, you need to create a free Zoom account at: and download and install the Zoom application on your device at:  Be sure to select the “Zoom Client For Meetings” in the Download Center.


Thursday, October 8
700 – Welcome
705 – Presentation 1: Professionalism in Officiating, Sal Vasta, IHSA Clinician
725 – Presentation 2: Focus on the Rules – Rule: 9
745 – Presentation 3: You Make The Call – 2020 Edition, Joe Spagnolo
810 – Meet The Assigner: Sal Vasta, GCAC and DuKane Conferences
820 – Plays of the Week
825 – Announcements
830 – New Officials Workshop 101

Mini-Session Synopsis

Mini-Session # 1: “Professionalism in Officiating
IHSA Clinician Sal Vasta discusses Professionalism on and off the court for officials. Topics include Fitness and Health, Rules Knowledge, The Do’s and Don’ts of Communication, Guidelines for Dealing with Unruly Spectators, and Being a Role Model.

Mini Session # 2: “Focus on the Rules – Rule 9 – Violations
A brief review of Violations will be presented.  The essentials of Out of Bounds, Backcourt, Illegal Dribble, Traveling and Counts will be examined.

Mini-Session # 3: “You Make The Call – 2020 Edition”
Joe Spagnolo will provide his annual video evaluation of “You Make The Call” plays from clips from the past 12 months.  This traditional favorite segment always provides stimulating discussion.

Video Play of the Week:
There’s a lot going on in this play.  The frantic action needs complete concentration and a timely whistle to properly officiate the play.  What do you think the officials missed in this sequence?

AOA Case Book Play of the Week:  A1 attempts a try after ending the dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the ring or any other player. A1 runs and is able to catch the ball before it strikes the floor.  Is this traveling?