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Blarge 101
• What is a “blarge?” 

• When do blarges usually occur?

• Who is the “primary” official in these situations?

• What would YOU do if this happens?

• How do we administer penalties when a blarge takes place?

• What are the common errors that can present themselves in this situation?

• What preventative steps can be taken to reduce / eliminate the possibility of a blarge?

• Any additional thoughts on what can be done to minimize these types of occurrences?



How Does it Happen?
The potential for having a “blarge” in a game is relatively low.

However, it can, and does happen, even with experienced officials!
It is important to know the rule sets that cover this scenario and, 

more importantly, how to stay out of this mess.



Where Can I Find It?
“Blarge” isn’t in the Rule Book!

While you won’t find the term “Blarge” in the rule book, it is covered in rule 4-19-8, which 
states, “A double personal foul is a situation in which two opponents commit personal 

fouls on each other at approximately the same time.”

Case book, 4-19-8 situation C deals with the double foul where one official rules block and 
another official rules charge. The ruling states, in part, “The foul on the offensive player is 
not a player-control foul because the two fouls result in a double personal foul.” The ball 

does not become dead on a try in this situation.



How to Prevent a Blarge
One of the skills young referees must develop is the ability to recognize the double 

whistle. A more important skill to master is making calls in your PCA (primary coverage 
area). This minimizes the chances that there will be a double whistle, which in turn, 

reduces the chances of a conflicting call by your partner.





Cover All the Bases
A good pregame will also help remind the crew to be aware on the court of double 

whistles. Typically, Lead will take priority on a double whistle between Lead and Center, or 
Lead and Trail. The reason the Center official will hold their signal is that most often the 

player involved in contact will be a secondary defender.



Now What?
You are in lead and refereeing your primary matchups. As A1 starts to drive the basket, A1 
gets past B1. B2, in your primary, establishes position and there is a bang, bang collision. 
You sound your whistle and as you are signaling the Player Control Foul, you look up and 

see you partner in the slot signaling Block – Now What?



Do What’s Right
The number one thing you can not do is withdraw your call. Once you have given the 

preliminary signal, your call stands. Think of the reaction from the coach that your call 
supports if you withdraw. At this point, neither official can “release” their call and let the 

other call prevail. It is important to come together and discuss the situation.
However, you must report both fouls!

The “blarge” is a double foul. Here are the 3 situations and how to deal with them. In 
each situation, each player is charged with a personal foul.



Know the Rule
Before a release for a try, there is a team control.
Report both fouls and team A retains possession

After a release for try – Report both fouls
Try is successful – no team control – score the goal; B in-bounds ball on endline.

Try is unsuccessful – no team control – play resumes by AP arrow.


